IT Career Glossary

Glossary of key IT terms and acronyms used on this site.
Search for glossary terms (regular expression allowed)


Term Definition
CSS, short for Cascading Style Sheets, is a style sheet language used to control the look and format of web pages.
Collision Detection
Collision detection is the process of finding where objects collide in a video game or simulation. If a bad collision is found, the programmer may have to alter the code so gameplay occurs as designed.
Short for 'Committee on National Security Systems,' the CNSS defines quality standards on IT security and information assurance training.
Cloud Computing
Cloud computing is the delivery of computing as a real-time web service, whereby shared resources like data, software, and storage services are provided to computers and other devices over the Internet. Cloud computing extends IT's existing capabilities by allowing users to access information, without necessarily having the storage space or even the knowledge to configure this information themselves.
Cisco Networking Academy
Cisco Networking Academy is a global education program, sponsored by Cisco Systems, that teaches students how to design, build, troubleshoot, and secure computer networks for increased access to career and economic opportunities in communities around the world. Networking Academy provides online courses, interactive tools, and hands-on learning activities to help individuals prepare for ICT (information & communications technology) and networking careers in virtually every type of industry.
CIA Triad
The CIA Triad refers to Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability, the core principles of information security.
CHPS: Certification In Healthcare Privacy and Security
AHIMA's Certification In Healthcare Privacy and Security (CHPS) credential is the only combined privacy and security certificate in the healthcare industry. The CHPS proves competence in designing, implementing, and administering comprehensive privacy and security protection programs in all types of healthcare organizations.
CHDA: Certified Health Data Analyst
AHIMA's Certified Health Data Analyst (CHDA) credential demonstrates expertise in health data analysis and the knowledge to acquire, manage, analyze, interpret, and transform data into accurate, consistent, and timely information, all while balancing the 'big picture' strategic vision with day-to-day details.
CCS: Certified Coding Specialist
AHIMA's Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) credential demonstrates mastery in classifying medical data from patient records. These coding practitioners review electronic health records and assign numerical codes for each diagnosis and procedure. CCS certified professionals know the ICD-9-CM and CPT coding systems, and are knowledgeable in medical terminology, disease processes and pharmacology.
CCA: Certified Coding Associate
AHIMA's Certified Coding Associate (CCA) credential demonstrates coding competencies across all settings, including hospitals and physician practices. Based upon job analysis standards and state-of-the-art test construction, the CCA is creating a larger pool of qualified coders to meet health IT employer needs.
The Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM) is the leading accrediting body of health IT degree programs.
An acronym for 'Computer-Aided Drafting and Design,' CADD is the discipline of using computer programs, such as AutoCAD or Revit Architecture, to draft and design the blueprints for complex structures and animations.